Nine countries join coalition to develop offshore wind energy

Nine countries join coalition to develop offshore wind energy

 Nine countries, including the United States, Japan and the United Kingdom, Tuesday joined in an international alliance aimed at encouraging offshore wind energy development.

The International Renewable Energy Agency, together with Denmark and an association of industry practitioners worldwide, has formed the Global Offshore Wind Energy Alliance.

On the occasion of the 27th COP27 Conference in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt, nine countries joined this young alliance: Germany, Belgium, Colombia, the United States, Ireland, Japan, Norway, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

These countries aim to "remove barriers" to the development of this energy source that can be "developed on a large scale in a short time and at competitive prices".

The International Renewable Energy Resources Agency and the International Energy Agency believe that the capacity of wind energy at sea should exceed 2,000 gigawatts in 2050, compared to about 60 at present to limit climate warming to 1.5 degrees Celsius and achieve carbon neutrality.

The alliance aspires to contribute to this goal with a total capacity of at least 380 GW by 2030.

“We see an opportunity to use our offshore qualifications to help other countries build and develop their own offshore wind energy capabilities,” German Climate Ambassador Jennifer Morgan said.

Belgian Energy Minister Tinh van der Stratend praises the significant development of the energy source in the North Sea, "which will turn into a large and sustainable power plant," adding, "With this green acceleration, we can abandon gas and oil sooner."